Texas Tech football great and All-American linebacker Zach Thomas will be one of 15 players inducted into the National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame in December.  The announcement was made at a news conference this morning in Dallas as part of the festivities surrounding the College Football Playoff National Championship.  A dominating linebacker for the Red Raiders from 1992-95, Thomas (pictured on the right) becomes the fifth Red Raider to earn entrance into the College Football Hall of Fame, joining Gabe Rivera (2012), Dave Parks (2008), Donny Anderson (1989) and E.J. Holub (1986).


"Congratulations to Zach Thomas and this most deserved recognition," Texas Tech President Dr. Duane Nellis said.  "Inclusion in the College Football Hall of Fame is a prestigious honor and Texas Tech has had the privilege over the years to have former student-athletes recognized for their contributions.  Texas Tech University is proud of each Red Raider enshrined in the Hall and appreciate their representation of our great university."

The 2015 Hall of Fame Class consists of coaches; Bill Snyder (Kansas State), Jim Tressel (Youngstown State/Ohio State) and players; Trev Alberts (Nebraska), Brian Bosworth (Oklahoma), Bob Bruenig (Arizona State), Sean Brewer (Millsaps), Ruben Brown (Pittsburgh), Wes Chandler (Florida), Thom Gatewood (Notre Dame), Dick Jauron (Yale), Clinton Jones (Michigan State), Lincoln Kennedy (Washington), Rob Lytle (Michigan), Michael Payton (Marshall), Art Still (Kentucky), Zach Thomas (Texas Tech) and Ricky Williams (Texas).

"It's a huge honor for both Zach and our program for him to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame," Head Coach Kliff Kingsbury said.  "He was such an incredible player not only in college but also in the NFL.  Zach is one of the greatest linebackers in the history of the game."

The official induction ceremony will take place at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 8th at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City.

More From Talk 103.9 & 1340