Oklahoma State head coach Mike Gundy was honored Thursday as the national coach of the year by the Football Writers Association of America.

He was chosen as the winner of the Eddie Robinson Award. The other finalists were Michigan's Brady Hoke, LSU's Les Miles, Kansas State's Bill Snyder and Clemson's Dabo Swinney.

Gundy will be presented with a bust of Eddie Robinson at a Jan. 8th ceremony in New Orleans.

He led the third-ranked Cowboys to an 11-1 regular season, their first Big 12 championship and their first BCS bowl berth. OSU will face No. 4 Stanford in the Fiesta Bowl on January 2nd.

More From Talk 103.9 & 1340