After becoming the first freshman to ever win the Heisman trophy, accolades continue to roll in for Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel as he was named the Associated Press’ Player of the Year.

Along with AP Player of the Year honors and the Heisman Trophy Manziel was also named the Davey O’Brien Award winner.

He is the third straight Heisman-winning quarterback to receive the AP honor, following Robert Griffin III and Cam Newton.

''I knew I could run the ball, I did it a lot in high school,'' Manziel said in an interview with the AP. ''It is just something that you don't get a chance to see in the spring. Quarterbacks aren't live in the spring. You don't get to tackle. You don't get to evade some of the sacks that you would in normal game situations. So I feel like when I was able to avoid getting tackled, it opened some people's eyes a little bit more.''

Manziel threw for 3,419 yards and 24 touchdowns along with rushing for 1,181 yards and 19 more scores. He helped guide the Aggies to their first 10 win season since 1998, and did it during Texas A&M’s inaugural season in the SEC.

More From Talk 103.9 & 1340