One of the most dominant football players in Texas Tech history will take his rightful place among college’s greatest players, as standout defensive lineman Gabe Rivera was selected Tuesday for the College Football Hall of Fame.

Rivera joins 13 other players and three coaches in this year’s hall of fame class and becomes the fourth Red Raider to be enshrined.

The three other Red Raiders inducted into the Hall of Fame were Dave Parks (2008), E.J. Holub (1986) and Donny Anderson (1989).

He played for the Red and Black from 1979 to 1982, earning consensus first-team All-America honors his senior season and also honorable mention All-America honors in 1980. He finished his Tech career with 321 tackles, 34 tackles for losses, 14 sacks, 11 pass breakups and six fumble recoveries.

Rivera was inducted into the Texas Tech Hall of Honor in 1993 and the Texas Sports Hall of Fame in 2007.

The 2012 class will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the National Football Foundation Awards Dinner in New York City on December 4th.

The 2012 Hall of Fame Class consists of: Charles Alexander, RB, LSU; Otis Armstrong, RB, Purdue; Steve Bartowski, QB, California; Hal Bedsole, SE, USC; Dave Casper, TE, Notre Dame; Ty Detmer, QB, BYU; Tommy Kramer, QB, Rice; Art Monk, WR, Syracuse; Greg Myers, DB, Colorado State; Jonathan Ogden, Offensive Tackle, UCLA; Gabe Rivera, DL, Texas Tech; Mark Simoneau, LB, Kansas State; Scott Thomas, Safety, Air Force; John Wooten, Offensive Guard, Colorado; Phillip Fulmer, Head Coach, University of Tennessee; Jimmy Johnson, Head Coach, Miami; R.C. Slocum, Head Coach, Texas A&M.

For the full press release from Texas Tech click here.

More From Talk 103.9 & 1340