The Wallace Award, sponsored by Mizuno, recognizes the nation’s top shortstop and will be presented on June 30 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions.

The Big 12 has five players on the list and the ACC features four. Several other conferences also have multiple players on the watch list.

“It really says something about the high quality of play in many of these conferences that they have so many players on the watch list,” said Wallace Award co-chair Tyler Young. “As conference play winds down, it will be interesting to see how these players finish the season and to see which conferences will still have multiple players on the list.”

Texas Tech SS Tim Proudfoot is one of the few freshman that made the watch list. He is one of just four freshmen to be named to the list, joining Rice’s Ford Stainback, San Diego’s Andrew Daniel and BYU’s Tanner Chauncey.

Proudfoot has been one of the premier defensive shortstops in the country during his initial collegiate season fielding .953 with 150 assists, 70 putouts and has committed 11 errors. In fact, out of Proudfoot’s 11 errors, just two have been fielding with nine throwing errors.



Chris DiazNC StateACC
Chris TaylorVirginiaACC
Johnny MoralesVirginia TechACC
Pat BlairWake ForestACC
Thomas LindauerIllinoisBig 10
Chad ChristensenNebraskaBig 10
David MillerPurdueBig 10
Jake MillerBaylorBig 12
Jake BrownKansas StateBig 12
Hunter BaileyOklahoma StateBig 12
Jordan EtierTexasBig 12
Mikey ReynoldsTexas A&MBig 12
Tim ProudfootTexas TechBig 12
Mike MillerCal PolyBig West
D.J. CrumlichUC IrvineBig West
Dalton RouleauHofstraColonial
Jack ReinheimerEast CarolinaCUSA
Ford StainbackRiceCUSA
Ashley GraeterSouthern MissCUSA
Darnell SweeneyCentral FloridaCUSA
Joe SclafaniDartmouthIvy
Alex JonesNorthern IllinoisMid-American
Eric StametsEvansvilleMVC
Dayne ParkerWichita StateMVC
Reed HarperAustin PeayOVC
Richie RodriguezEastern KentuckyOVC
Kenton ParmleySE Missouri StateOVC
Alex MejiaArizonaPac-12
Deven MarreroArizona StatePac-12
J.J. AltobelliOregonPac-12
Tyler SmithOregon StatePac-12
Kenny DiekroegerStanfordPac-12
Pat ValaikaUCLAPac-12
James BrooksUtahPac-12
Alex MaldonadoHoly CrossPatriot
Jared ReavesAlabamaSEC
Tim CarverArkansasSEC
Nolan FontanaFloridaSEC
Matt ReidaKentuckySEC
Austin NolaLSUSEC
Zach OsborneTennesseeSEC
Anthony GomezVanderbiltSEC
Will CallawayAppalachian StateSouthern
Cam SchillerOral RobertsSummit
Bo CuthbertsonSouthern UtahSummit
Pi’ikea KitamuraHawaiiWAC
Zach VoightNew Mexico StateWAC
Tyler ChaunceyBYUWCC
Zach VincejPepperdineWCC
Andrew DanielSan DiegoWCC

More From Talk 103.9 & 1340