As a Texas Tech homer, I think there was some minimal snubbing in the Big 12 basketball end of year awards. Not that there should have been TTU representation on the 1st team, or even 2nd, but the 3rd team should have had a Red Raider.

Obviously, Tubby Smith being named coach of the year is awesome, but beggars can't be choosers I guess because the team did get three players on the honorable mention list in Toddrick Gotcher, Aaron Ross and Zach Smith.

Definitely deserving to have these three guys receive some recognition. On any given night you were depending on one of these guys to carry you for a stretch of the game.

Gotcher registered a team-leading 11.2 ppg and had double figures 17 times. He was pivotal in the Oklahoma State game, scoring 24 points winning for the first time since 2002-2003. His highlight of the season was the "rebound and run away" at the end of the OU game in Lubbock. Great moment to cap a great career.

Ross has a bone to pick with the 6th man of the year voting. He totaled 12.5 ppg during Big 12 action and had double digits 14 of the last 16 games. He is the best free throw shooter in the Big 12 and is in the Top 5 in 3-point percentage.

If there was an award for best player to throw an oop to Zach Smith would have that locked down. Since there is no such award he settled for a spot on the honorable mention team. With 10 points, seven rebounds (6th Big 12) and 1.5 blocks (4th Big 12) per game Smith was very productive in his sophomore campaign.

The Big 12 tournament starts on Wednesday when Texas Tech Squares off with TCU in Kansas City.

Here is a complete list of the awards:

2015-16 All-Big 12 Awards

Play of the Yearer: Buddy Hield, Oklahoma
Defensive Player of the Year: Prince Ibeh, Texas
Freshman of the Year: Jawun Evans, Oklahoma State
Newcomer of the Year: Deonte Burton, Iowa State
Sixth Man Award: Jaysean Paige, West Virginia
Coach of the Year: Tubby Smith, Texas Tech

All-Big 12 First Team

Taurean Prince, Baylor
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Perry Ellis, Kansas
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma
Isaiah Taylor, Texas

All-Big 12 Second Team

Montè Morris, Iowa State
Frank Mason III, Kansas
Wayne Selden Jr., Kansas
Jaysean Paige, West Virginia
Devin Williams, West Virginia

All-Big 12 Third Team

Rico Gathers, Baylor
Johnathan Motley, Baylor
Wesley Iwundu, Kansas State
Isaiah Cousins, Oklahoma
Ryan Spangler, Oklahoma

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention / Listed alphabetically by school

Lester Medford (Baylor), Jameel McKay (Iowa State), Abdel Nader (Iowa State), Matt Thomas (Iowa State), Devonte' Graham (Kansas), Landen Lucas (Kansas), Jordan Woodard (Oklahoma), Jawun Evans (Oklahoma State), Jeff Newberry (Oklahoma State), Javan Felix (Texas), Toddrick Gotcher (Texas Tech), Aaron Ross (Texas Tech), Zach Smith (Texas Tech)

Big 12 All-Defensive Team

Devonte' Graham, Kansas
Frank Mason III, Kansas
Wesley Iwundu, Kansas State
Khadeem Lattin, Oklahoma
Prince Ibeh, Texas
Jevon Carter, West Virginia

Big 12 All-Newcomer Team

Deonte Burton, Iowa State
Barry Brown, Kansas State
Dean Wade, Kansas State
Jawun Evans, Oklahoma State
Eric Davis Jr., Texas
Kerwin Roach Jr., Texas


More From Talk 103.9 & 1340