Byron Hanspard was joined by former head coaches Jim Carlen and Pete Cawthon on 2021 ballot Tuesday for the College Football Hall of Fame. This is Hansard's fourth year on the national ballot.

To be on the ballot, a player must have been named a first-team All-American by a major selector as recognized by the NCAA for its consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 full seasons prior; played within the last 50 years; and cannot be currently playing professional football.

Hanspard checks the age requirements and was named All-American in the same year he rushed for more than 2,000 yards and won the Doak Walker award. He's the leading rusher in Texas Tech history with 4,219 yards in three seasons from 1994-1996. Hanspard was also a two-time All-Conference selection. He's one of five players in Texas Tech history to rush for at least 1,000 yards twice in a career.

Two Red Raider coaches are also on the 2021 ballot in Jim Carlen who coached from 1970-1974 and Pete Cawthon who coached from 1930 to 1940.

Carlen compiled a 37-20-2 record in five seasons with the 1973 season earning him National Coach of the Year honors. He was a three-time Southwest Conference Coach of the Year and led the Red Raiders to a Cotton Bowl appearance and went to four bowl games in five seasons. Carlen might be most recognized by younger fans by the throwbacks Texas Tech has worn the last few seasons with the white helmets that has red stars on the temple.

Cawthon has the highest winning percentage of any Red Raider coach ever with a .693 winning percentage in 11 seasons. He led the program to four Border Conference titles and a perfect regular season in 1938 which led to Texas Tech's first Cotton Bowl appearance ever.

Texas Tech currently has five former players enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. E.J. Holub was inducted in 1986 followed by Donny Anderson in 1989, Dave Parks in 2008, Gabe Rivera in 2012, and Zach Thomas in 2015 class.

27 Best and Worst Texas Tech Football Uniforms Since 2000


More From Talk 103.9 & 1340