The end of season awards have been announced for the Big 12 and zero Red Raiders received accommodations for the main awards and no Red Raiders made the 1st Team All-Big 12.

While I understand why, the Red Raiders had a 3-6 record in Big 12 play, while the next worst is 5-4. In spite of that, I do feel like some Red Raiders deserved better.

I have no qualms with the Coach of the Year or the Offensive player of the Year that went to Iowa States Matt Campbell and Oklahoma's Baker Mayfield. The Big 12 also nailed the Special Teams player of of the Year won by the Longhorn Punter, Michael Dickson.

Orlando Brown from Oklahoma won his second consecutive Offensive Lineman of the Year. Well deserved. Also from Oklahoma, Defensive player of the Year, Ogbonnia Okoronkwo. Because it's the Big 12 they had to add a Co-Player of the Year for the Defense which went to the Longhorns Malik Jefferson.

Ross Blacklock of TCU and Kenneth Murray of Oklahoma were named Defensive Freshmen of the Year. While I'm very excited about Riko Jeffers he wasn't a full time player all year and didn't light up the stat sheets like the other guys.

Will Grier from West Virginia was awarded Offensive Newcomer of the Year. If Tre King could have stayed healthy he could have made some noise here but he really has little argument up against Grier.

Ben Banogu from TCU was named as Defensive Newcomer of the Year. Here is the first name I have some issue with. Technically Dakota Allen is a Newcomer and his case here is pretty arguable.

Offensive Freshman of the year went to Charlie Brewer from Baylor for some reason and they needed to add a Co-Player and also gave an award to Jalen Reagor. I understand Offensive lineman don't often get awards outside of Best Offensive Lineman but true freshman Jack Anderson had a hell of a year at guard for the Red Raiders.

Poona Ford was named Defensive Lineman of the Year and his impact is definitely for real, but he's more of a space eating guy who disrupts games but doesn't fill up any stat sheet. I don't really have any problem with Poona Ford winning this award over Eli Howard, who had a better year than Ford. Ford is a Senior and really does make an impact from his inside which isn't something every team has.

Ford shouldn't have won the award though. Daniel Wise from Kansas had the best season along the defensive line of any body. Over 50 tackles, 6.5 sacks and a couple of forced fumbles are incredible stats for a defensive tackle. If wise had been on any other team his name would be thrown around like crazy, if he was a Sooner he might be Defensive Player of the Year.

Moving on, four Red Raiders made the 2nd team All-Big 12 team, which is awesome, but it's hard to see how Keke Coutee and Dakota Allen didn't make the 1st team.

That being said, Keke Coutee, Dakota Allen, Jah'Shawn Johnson and Justus Parker were named to the 2nd team All-Big 12 team and congratulations to them it's a big honor.

14 other Red Raiders – Madison Akamnonu, Cameron Batson, Jordyn Brooks, Travis Bruffy, Dylan Cantrell, Vaughnte Dorsey, Kolin Hill, Eli Howard, Dominic Panazzolo, Nic Shimonek, Paul Stawarz, Justin Stockton, Mychealon Thomas and Broderick Washington Jr. – all earned honorable mention accolades.

I would have loved to see Eli Howard get a little more respect after the season he had.

More From Talk 103.9 & 1340