The 2018 Red Raider football season is here. After what seems like an eternity, football is just a handful of days away. With the season drawing near, the Texas Tech football team has announced who will be captains for the 2018 season.

This group of captains is a very strong group with key veterans, Dakota Allen and Jah'Shawn Johnson highlighting the list of captains. This marks the second straight season that the duo have been named team captains.

They will be joined by junior offensive lineman Travis Bruffy, senior wide receiver Ja'Deion High, junior offensive lineman Terence Steele and junior defensive lineman Broderick Washington Jr.

These six team captains will lead the Red Raiders Saturday when Tech kicks off the 2018 season against Ole Miss from NRG Stadium in Houston. Get all the up to date information you need before the game on 1340 The Fan’s Countdown to Kickoff from 9 to 11 a.m. on Saturday, September, 1st.

See Texas Tech football media day interviews

More From Talk 103.9 & 1340