Texas Tech's Zach Smith has been throwing down monster jams all season, and he has now been selected for the 30th annual State Farm College Slam Dunk Contest & 3-point championship.

Smith is one of eight participants selected for the event, which will be televised live by ESPN2 on Thursday night (March 29) at 8 p.m. CT following the NIT Championship Game. He will look to join other former Red Raiders who have won this same contest: Lance Hughes in 1995, Darvin Ham in 1996 and, most recently, Andre Emmett back in 2004.

More From Talk 103.9 & 1340