Just like the ACC did a few weeks ago in announcing the additions of Pittsburgh and Syracuse, the Southeastern Conference used a Sunday morning press release to officially announce the addition of the Missouri Tigers to the SEC.

The Tigers will leave the Big 12 and join the SEC on July 1, 2012.

“The Southeastern Conference is a highly successful, stable, premier athletic conference that offers exciting opportunities for the University of Missouri,” said Chancellor Brady J. Deaton. “In joining the SEC, MU partners with universities distinguished for their academic programs and their emphasis on student success. The SEC will provide our student-athletes with top flight competition and unparalleled visibility. We came to this decision after careful consideration of the long term best interests of our university.  We believe the Southeastern Conference is an outstanding home for the Mizzou Tigers, and we take great pride in our association with this distinguished league.”

The SEC also recognizes the academic prestige that Missouri brings to the conference.  Missouri will be the fourth institution in the SEC to hold membership in the prestigious Association of American Universities, joining University of Florida, Texas A&M University and Vanderbilt University.

According to the SEC, Missouri has an enrollment of 33,800 students, which would be the fourth largest institution in the conference, with Florida, Georgia and Texas A&M having a larger student body.  The State of Missouri borders three SEC states: Tennessee, Kentucky and Arkansas.

Missouri is the 14th team in the SEC and it joins current Big 12 conference member Texas A&M in jumping ship from the Big 12 to the SEC.

The SEC today did not state which division the Tigers will be assigned to for the 2012 football season.