The Baseball Writers Association of America announced their choices for Managers of the Year Wednesday afternoon, with Arizona’s Kirk Gibson claiming the honor in the National League, and Tampa Bay’s Joe Maddon claiming the American League recognition.

Gibson was a clear choice after guiding the Arizona Diamondbacks from worst in the division to a West title. The former MVP received the honor in his first full season as a big league manager.

The Diamondbacks went 94-68 under Gibson’s guidance, a year after taking over in midseason as Arizona went 65-97. Gibson drew 28 of the 32 first-place votes and got 152 points. He was the only manager in either league to be listed on every ballot.

Ron Roenicke on the NL Central champion Milwaukee Brewers was second with three first-place votes and 92 points. Tony La Russa of the World Series champion St. Louis Cardinals was third with the other first-place vote and 24 points. Voting was completed before the start of the playoffs.

Maddon was recognized after helping the Rays overcome a nine-game deficit to beat out Boston for the wild-card spot on the final day of the regular season. It was the 57-year-old managers second time receiving the honor as he also won it in 2008.

Maddon drew 26 of 28 first-place votes and had 133 points. Jim Leyland of the AL Central champion Detroit Tigers got the other pair of first-place votes and had 54 points and Ron Washington of the AL champion Rangers was third with 31.

The National League Cy Young Award winner will be revealed tomorrow with the Dodgers Clayton Kershaw the favorite to win the award.

To read more click here.